LA Noire and Sympathy for Lady Vengeance Impressions

LA Noire and Sympathy for Lady Vengeance Impressions

Greetings! Recently I had two loose ends I needed to tie up, and those were playing LA Noire and watching Sympathy for Lady Vengeance. I am not one to cut things short, but both were so disappointing in their own way I had to cut them off.

LA Noire was a game I wanted to like. I’ve enjoyed most of what Rockstar had done, but the game got way too repetitive for me. I can enjoy a good adventure game sometimes (SOMA was a great example of that) but when a game gets repetitive, you either like what it’s repeating or not. In this case I didn’t. This game revolves around you looking into cases, studying people’s faces while driving around with your partner to different locations. Usually there is a car chase or a shootout of some sort that follows the actual investigation, and that’s it. After that it’s on to the next case, and its rinse, wash, repeat. I have heard there was some story threads to be revealed for Cole, the main character, but the game is so bland I didn’t really care.

When I found out as well that the game is pretty long, I just couldn’t imagine playing this game any more than I did. I imagine I put a solid 5-7 hours into this game before I gave up. The cases get progressively tougher, and you become unsure of what someone is saying, even based on evidence. I’m sure there’s people out there who enjoy what this game is going for, but I just couldn’t get into it. The facescan technology is amazing, but besides that I feel like iv’e done it all before, and better in other games. The music and settings were well realized, but the gameplay and story are just too barebone for me to hold on to. If you love adventure games and really like investigating stuff over and over again, then maybe you will find something to like here.

Sympathy for Lady Vengeance is the last film in Chan-wook Park’s disconnected revenge trilogy. I enjoyed the first two films because while they were dark, you understood the motivations of the characters and there was a nice detail that permeated the films. Now, with Sympathy, that is what drew me in initially. I loved the rich dialogue, realistic storytelling, and high attention to detail. Even the cinematography was fantastic, trippy even, I was very immersed. It was about halfway through the film that things got too dark, even for me.

There was a scene that I just couldn’t get behind at about the halfway mark the put me over the edge. The main character throughout the whole movie is taking revenge after a man that did her wrong, and when she’s out with her family, they have a puppy they just picked up, and for some reason she decides to kill it?!! I didn’t feel it really added anything to the story, and I don’t think harming animals is a good way to advance the plot. It’s just wrong and it shouldn’t be glorified in any respect. Many people on the internet will praise this as a deep way for the director to get a point across, but to me it comes across as lazy and mean-spirited.

I can enjoy a good slasher flick or something once in a while, but when a movie involves the hurting of animals to drive the plot forward, that’s where I draw the line. Maybe it’s because i’m a dog person, but I would have a hard time watching any animal of any sort be in pain in a film. It just doesn’t need to happen, and this will be the last time in a while that I watch a foreign film.

Being involved in media and research of it, sometimes things don’t pan out. I think something looks interesting, and it just isn’t. It’s ok, but im glad I have this blog to put this out there. If I help at least one person then it’s a win in my book. Watch the first two films in this trilogy: Sympathy for Mr. Vengeance and Oldboy. They are better films that are a bit easier to watch.

-Till next time, stay frosty!

2 thoughts on “LA Noire and Sympathy for Lady Vengeance Impressions

  1. I haven’t heard of this yet, I’m gonna go check it out right now! I’m with ya there on the animal thing…I can’t stand it when games and movies use that as a way to make you “feel” something. I understand it’s to drive up sympathy or whatever, but I can’t handle it when I see kids or animals die / get hurt just to get a cringe. I can’t really think of a tasteful way to implement that sort of thing. I can’t remember which one it was, but when I was still playing the Call of Duty series, there was a level where you were being attacked by dogs, and you’d have to stab them to death just to get them off you – that is if you didn’t fill them full of bullets first. Just not my cup of tea. I will definitely go check the first two out though, I need something to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah there really isn’t a tasteful way to implement that sort of stuff because it’s tasteless really. Just an unnecessary, lazy way for a director to get their point across. I remember playing that level in CoD as well, that was some tough stuff. Sometimes it’s a bit harder when it’s in a game, because you have to do a sequence like that to progress through the game.

      It makes it a bit easier in a Fallout or Resident Evil type of setting if the dogs are mutated or irradiated, but in the back of my mind I wish I could turn them to my side! Haha Anyway enjoy the first two films, they were pretty well done IMO and while dark they are pretty well done.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

